In November 2020, Florida voters approved Florida’s Amendment 2 which increased Florida’s hourly minimum wage to $15 an hour. Amendment 2 was crafted to include a gradual increase in Florida’s hourly minimum wage.
Accordingly, beginning on September 30, 2021, Florida’s hourly minimum wage will increase to $10 an hour. On September 30. 2021, the hourly minimum wage rate for tipped employees will increase to $6.98.
What do employers need to know?
- First, no later than September 30th, Florida employers need to increase hourly pay for their employees in accord with Florida’s increased hourly minimum wage;
- Second, employers need to comply with positing requirements in the workplace. Florida businesses must display Federal and State of Florida employment law posters where they can be easily viewed by employees. The federal minimum wage poster is available here, and Florida’s minimum wage poster can be found here. Both the Federal and Florida posters are available at no charge.
Dori K. Stibolt is a partner with the law firm of Fox Rothschild LLP. Dori defends and counsels management in labor and employment litigation matters pertaining to wage and overtime claims, discrimination, harassment, retaliation, leave/restraint, and whistle-blower claims. You can contact Dori at 561-804-4417 or firstname.lastname@example.org.