I’m wearing tights today (temps are in the 60s), so that must mean it might be time for the annual end of the year Florida minimum wage rate change.
As of January 1, 2020, Florida’s minimum wage will rise from the current rate of $8.46 per hour to $8.56.
Under Florida Statute § 448.110 4(a) and (b), the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity must calculate Florida’s minimum wage based upon the increase, if any, in the Federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Earners and Clerical Workers in the southern region. Based upon this year’s calculation, Florida’s new minimum wage for 2020 will rise by ten (10) cents.
Employers of tipped employees, who meet eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the Fair Labor Standards Act, may count tips actually received as wages under the Florida minimum wage. However, the employer must pay tipped employees a direct wage. The direct wage is calculated as equal to the minimum wage, $8.56 minus the tip credit for Florida, $3.02, or a direct hourly wage of $5.54 as of January 1, 2020.
The photo in this post is of the Sandi Christmas Tree in West Palm Beach, Florida (photo by me).
Dori K. Stibolt is a partner with the law firm of Fox Rothschild LLP. Dori defends and counsels management in labor and employment litigation matters pertaining to wage and overtime claims, discrimination, harassment, retaliation, leave/restraint, and whistle-blower claims. You can contact Dori at 561-804-4417 or firstname.lastname@example.org.