Florida's minimum wage

Sometimes its hard to tell that its the holidays in Florida with no snow on the ground or chill in the air.  But the end of the year means its time for Florida employers to pay attention to the new 2019 Florida minimum wage. As of January 1, 2019, Florida’s minimum wage will rise from the current rate of $8.25 per hour to $8.46.

Under Florida Statute § 448.110 4(a) and (b), the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity must calculate Florida’s minimum wage based upon the increase, if any, in the Federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Earners and Clerical Workers in the southern region. Based upon this year’s calculation, Florida’s new minimum wage for 2019 is $8.46 per hour.

Employers of tipped employees, who meet eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the Fair Labor Standards Act, may count tips actually received as wages under the Florida minimum wage. However, the employer must pay tipped employees a direct wage. The direct wage is calculated as equal to the minimum wage, $8.46 minus the tip credit for Florida, $3.02, or a direct hourly wage of $5.44 as of January 1, 2019.

The photo in this post is of the Royal Poinciana Surfboard Christmas Tree in Palm Beach (photo by me).


Dori K. Stibolt is a partner with the law firm of Fox Rothschild LLP.  Dori defends and counsels management in labor and employment litigation matters pertaining to wage and overtime claims, discrimination, harassment, retaliation, leave/restraint, and whistle-blower claims.  You can contact Dori at 561-804-4417 or dstibolt@foxrothschild.com.

 

It is pumpkin spike latte time here in Florida which is one of the only signs of fall with our tropical weather.   Fall also is time for Florida employers to pay attention to the new 2018 Florida minimum wage.  As of January 1, 2018, Florida’s minimum wage will rise from the current rate of $8.10 per hour to $8.25 per hour.

Under Florida Statute § 448.110 4(a) and (b), the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity must calculate Florida’s minimum wage based upon the increase, if any, in the Federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Earners and Clerical Workers in the southern region.  Based upon this year’s calculation, Florida’s new minimum wage for 2018 is $8.25 per hour.

Employers of tipped employees, who meet eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the Fair Labor Standards Act, may count tips actually received as wages under the Florida minimum wage.  However, the employer must pay tipped employees a direct wage.  The direct wage is calculated as equal to the minimum wage, $8.25, minus the tip credit for Florida, $3.02, or a direct hourly wage of $5.23.

————————-
Dori K. Stibolt is a partner with the law firm of Fox Rothschild LLP.  Dori defends and counsels management in labor and employment litigation matters pertaining to wage and overtime claims, discrimination, harassment, retaliation, leave/restraint, and whistle-blower claims.  You can contact Dori at 561-804-4417 or dstibolt@foxrothschild.com.

Following other efforts across the country to raise minimum wage above the Federal requirement, a Florida senator is now proposing a $15 minimum wage here in Florida.

Florida already has a statute that mandates a minimum wage higher than the Federal requirement.  Currently, as of January 1, 2015, Florida’s minimum wage is $8.05 for regular employees and $5.03 for tipped employees.

————————–

Dori K. Stibolt is an attorney with the law firm of Fox Rothschild LLP.  Dori defends and counsels management in labor and employment litigation matters pertaining to wage and overtime claims, discrimination, harassment, retaliation, leave/restraint, and whistle-blower claims.  You can contact Dori at 561-804-4417 or dstibolt@foxrothschild.com.